Six Questions About Life in Finland

Chloe Wells
8 min readFeb 24, 2022

You asked. I answer.

A colour photo taken from above of Helsinki Central Railway Station, Helsinki, Finland. Photo is taken at night or during dusk/dawn. There is snow on he ground. Photo also shows surrounding streets with cars queued up.
Helsinki Central Railway Station. Photo by Alexandr Bormotin on Unsplash

I recently published the story Five Fascinating Facts about Finland. At the end of that story, I invited people to ask me anything (AMA) about Finland.

I also did an AMA in my Instagram stories, on Twitter and on LinkedIn — which no one responded to. Luckily, I also posted on my personal Facebook page and that got a lot of responses.

Let’s jump in…

A serious question first:

What is the crime rate in Finland?

Firstly, to put these figures into context, Finland has a population of 5.5 million.

According to Statistics Finland, in 2021 there were 478,600 “offences against the Criminal Code” recorded by the police, customs and border guard (these include traffic offences such as speeding). Of these, 33,800 were “assault offences” (I suppose this is the same as ‘violent crimes’).

Nationwide in 2021 there were 86 homicides and deaths by manslaughter and 382 attempted homicides.

--

--

Chloe Wells

True crime and strange tales mostly. Top writer for the tag ‘Finland’.